SYN Board

SYN is governed by a Board of Directors, elected by the SYN membership, who offer their time and expertise voluntarily to our organisation. The SYN Board is responsible for making strategic decisions for SYN and ensuring that the organisation is financially and legally compliant. They represent SYN’s member’s interests and are elected at SYN’s annual AGM.

Do you have a question for the board? Email President Eleanor Doran via [email protected].

SYN’s Board Members are:

Eleanor-Doran-300x225 Eleanor Doran
Chair / Board President

Eleanor joined the SYN Board in June 2018 because she wanted to learn about governance and what it takes to guide an organisation to meet its purpose. Eleanor loves community radio, and co-hosted her own seasonal radio show about literature on SYN. She is passionate about the success of SYN in assisting young people produce and present content that is relevant to them.

The previous Chair of the Fundraising Committee, Eleanor’s was elected at SYN’s 2019 AGM, and is SYN’s President. Eleanor is an Associate at Wendy Brooks & Partners providing consultancy to the not-for-profit sector.

Grace-McKinnon-pic-e1534575059107-225x300 Grace McKinnon

Grace joined the SYN board in July 2018 after being a highly committed on-air volunteer and executive producer of SYN’s news and current affairs program Panorama.

Grace was first prompted to join the board after attending SYN Camp in early 2018, before then she had no idea what governance meant or the role of managing a non-for-profit. She has learnt the ropes of what good governance is and is looking forward to best helping SYN in her role.



DE-FAZIO-Charles-2-260x300 Charles De Fazio

Charles joined the SYN board in February 2019. Charles is a manager at KPMG where he specialises in the provision of audit and accounting services to organisations across a range of sectors including the Media and Not-for-Profit sectors.

Charles joined SYN to learn more about organisational strategy and governance and has been overwhelmed with the significant impact that SYN has on the lives of young media makers.
As the Treasurer, Charles provides oversight over SYN finances and works closely with the General Manager and the board in ensuring sound financial governance at SYN.


Board Bio Image

Jack Missen

Jack joined the Board in October 2019 so he could learn about governance after being an active member of the Volunteer base for 5 years, in various roles in programming as an Executive producer and Talks Manager. His passion for SYN’s long-term strategy is consolidated by his love of community radio.

As the Secretary, Jack provides administration support to the board to ensure that it runs as smoothly as possible. Also as a member of the Nominations Sub-Committees, finding appropriate candidates to fill positions for the various board sub-committees as well as being a member of the Risk and Compliance Committee, Jack is responsible for working with the Board to identify and minimise any Risks to SYN.

dinkus-rachael-Dexter-300x300 Rachael Dexter
Chair of Nominations Committee

Rachael was elected to the SYN Board in October 2016, and in that time has served as Secretary, Vice-President and, from June 2018 – October 2019 was President of the Board. Rachael came to SYN as an RMIT journalism student in 2013 and threw herself into media-making, mainly on SYN’s news and current affairs radio shows and podcasts.

Rachael has previously worked as Radio Producer for ABC Radio Melbourne, and is currently a video/podcast producer and reporter at The Age. Rachael works closely with the Board and the General Manager of SYN to implement long-term strategies for the youth media organisation she cares so deeply about. “I wouldn’t be where I am today without SYN… I advocate fiercely for the power of young people in media. It’s an honour to help lead this wonderful organisation”.

Breanna Hassall
Ordinary Member

E.Masters-headshot-300x298 Eleanor Masters
Chair of Performance and Remuneration Committee

Eleanor joined the SYN Board in May 2018, with a depth of experience in people and organisational culture. She is passionate about enabling young people to succeed and was attracted to SYN because it makes a tangible difference to the working lives of young people who want to work or already work, in digital media.

As Chair of the Performance & Remuneration Committee, Eleanor helps oversee the performance and professional development of the General Manager at SYN. She has worked internationally across different parts of people and culture and usually, in large scale transformation programs. “I love working with organisations to empower and enable their people to thrive.”

Anita Das
Chair of Risk and Compliance Committee

Joe-D-bio-pic-latest-207x300 Joe Dreyfus
Ordinary Member

Joe joined the SYN Board in October 2017. He is passionate about giving all young people opportunities to achieve their potential – whether that’s in making media, or any other activity that brings communities together to do great things.

Joe is a management consultant at Nous Group and brings to the SYN board experience in organisational strategy, finance for not for profits and governance. Joe is a member of the Finance and Risk & Compliance Board committees. He is currently a member of the Play On board and founding director of Asylum Insight.