A year of MEDIA MUTINY celebrated at the annual SYN Awards

Thirty one young people were recognised for their outstanding contributions to media last night at a pirate-themed SYN Awards, an event held annually to celebrate the exceptional talent of Australia’s young media makers.

Among the winners was Georgia Moodie, contributor to SYN’s flagship arts show Arts Mitten, who picked up two awards for her outstanding feature on Bangarra Dance Theatre’s production of Terrain.

Georgia is now Producer of ABC Radio National’s drive program, and credits SYN for launching her career.

“Like it has for countless others, SYN has played a huge role in launching my media career. It’s so fantastic that SYN exists, not only to give young people practical media skills, but also as a platform for the stories of young people – diverse voices not often heard elsewhere in the media,” said Moodie.


Best Music Team or Program: Sunday Sweets with Kate Crowhurst

Best Comedy Team or Program: Get Cereal (Wednesdays) with Stormy, Tim and Jess

Best Current Affairs Team or Program: Panorama with Phoebe Roth – Rail Suicide: The Untold Toll

Best Radio Talk Team or Program: Panorama with Sally Whyte and Joseph Dunstan –Panorama Hot Seat: Youth Minister Ryan Smith

Best Radio Segment or Feature: Arts Mitten with Georgia Moodie – Bangarra Dance Theatre

Don’t Touch That Dial Award: Panorama with Ben Westcott – How the Sex Industry has Changed

Best Message – Station ID or PromoRadio Respawn – 8 Bit Snippet

Radio Presenter of the Year: Amanda Angiolino and Brad Guy – The Hoist

Radio Producer of the Year: Joseph Dunstan – Panorama

Most Innovative New Content Idea: Michael Kean – The Naughty Rude Show Blog

Excellence in Multicultural Media: Arts Mitten with Georgia Moodie – Bangarra Dance Theatre

Best Radio Interview: Izzy Tolhurst – Divine Fits

Best Schools on Air Team: Ashwood College

Access Program of the Year: Next Generation Media

TV Presenter of the Year: Simon Takla – 1700

TV Producer of the year: Mike O’Donoghue and Georgia Greenway – 1700

Best TV Segment or Feature: 1700’s 100th Episode for 2012

Best TV and Screen Piece:  1700 Falls Festival Special

Best TV Tech Crew Member: Tim Hammond

Trainer of the Year: Tim Hammond

Under 18 Volunteer or Program of the Year: Belle Jackson – Objection

Outstanding Services to SYN by a SYN volunteer: Belle Jackson and Beck Russo

Outstanding Services to SYN – above and beyond: Chris Hodgen

SYN provides media training and broadcast opportunities to over 1000 young people each year. To find out more about SYN, visit syn.org.au.

For more information, please contact Tahlia Azaria on 9925 4788 or [email protected].

March 21st 2013
Read more by tahlia